Library: Stem: Library Resources by Field of Interest: Science, Technology, Engineering &amp; Mathematics (STEM) Library Resources

Science Databases

Earth, Atmosphere & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection includes the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database with complete with scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Included are the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (AFSA), and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). This collection features specialized editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth's air, land, and water environments.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window More than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A custom collection of nearly 200 journals providing robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Gale Interactive: Chemistry This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive: Chemistry covers topics like the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Users can dive deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore interactive models. Clicking through each session displays relevant reference content related to the image, complete with cross-searching capabilities to locate the right information. These powerful visual tools can be used for in-class demonstrations or help with homework and research assignments.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections, perform cause-and-effect simulations, and immerse themselves in virtual research.
Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A custom collection of nearly 50 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscapting, and other areas of horticulture.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window General Science Full Text covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window This database covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Materials Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Topics covered include metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and deal with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.
Nature This link opens in a new window Online edition of the peer-reviewed journal of science and technology
Salem Press: Science This link opens in a new window A collection of science reference eBooks.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window Website of the peer-reviewed journal with access to the full-text of issues
ScienceDirect College Edition: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Provides access to a wide range of trusted, high-quality interdisciplinary research and scholarly literature, in physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Scientific American This link opens in a new window A popular magazine that covers research, ideas, and knowledge in science, health, technology, and science.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Research Guides

Helpful resources for learning how to research.

Subject Guides

Get Help

Chat with a real live librarian!

Library FAQs

Citation Help

More Virtual Help Options

Library Resources

Find articles, ebooks, and streaming videos
Research Guides

What is a library database?

A library database is a searchable collection of different resources including articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals, streaming videos, images, and more.

Library databases are different than Google. The information contained in databases is not freely available via a google search. You have access to the databases as an SCC student, so when you access a database from off campus you will be prompted to login with your MEID and password.

Keywords

Databases deliver the best results when you search using specific keywords or short phrases rather than full sentences, questions, or strings of words. Thinking about your topic and different aspects of your topic can help you to identify relevant keywords. Good keywords are single words (usually nouns) OR specific phrases (two or more words that must go together to make sense). When searching for an exact phrase, use quotations. Here is an example of some keywords and phrases:

biology "physical science" "veterinary technology" sustainability physiology

Research Guides

Helpful resources for learning how to research.

Research Guides by Class

Visit the Class Guide page for information on the courses that have specific guides available.