Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scottsdale Community College Scottsdale Community College Library

Getting started with Research: Home

Library Databases

You can find different types of article in the library's databases. 

What is a library database?

A library database is a collection of different sources such as magazine articles, journal articles, newspapers, ebooks, streaming videos, images, book reviews, and more.  You can find all these sources by searching with keywords.  If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login to the databases with your MEID and password.

Search Tips

Type specific keywords or short phrases into the database search box rather than full sentences or questions.  Use AND to connect 2 or more different key concepts. Use quotations around exact phrases.

  • Search example: college AND "study skills"
  • Search example: privacy AND Facebook

Brainstorm a few different keywords that relate to the topic you are researching.  Use OR to connect 2 or more synonyms or related terms.  Try a few searches with different keywords to get different results.

  • Brainstorm synonyms: college, university, higher education, community college
  • Search example: (college OR university) AND "study skills"

With so many databases to choose from it is hard to know where to start!  We have arranged the databases by topic, but if you're unsure of where to start these are great general databases to help get you started with your quest for information. 

Choosing and Using Keywords