Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scottsdale Community College Scottsdale Community College Library

Culture & Society: Career Research Resources from the Library

 

Culture and Society Field of Interest Icon                Career Resources and Research Tips

Career Databases from the Library

Use these databases to search for information about different careers. You can find salary information, job duties and descriptions, education requirements, and more.

Self-Paced Tutorials

Want some more in-depth information about preparing for a job or career? Check out this self-paced Canvas tutorial which includes the following modules:

  • How to Explore Careers Using Library Resources
  • Information Skills for the Workplace

More resources can be found in the Career Research guide

Get Help

Ask a Librarian chat Logo

Chat with a real live librarian!

 

Browse Career Books & eBooks from the SCC Library

Book cover

Media and Journalism Professionals

This book includes interviews with professionals and covers the following areas: Editor in Chief, Editor/Senior Editor, Copy Editor, Proofreader, Reporter, Correspondent, Broadcast Journalist, Photo Journalist.

Book cover

The Introvert's Complete Career Guide (ebook)

Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extroverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. The book provides strategies, tools, and success stories.

Book Cover

I Am Where I Come From : Native American College Students and Graduates Tell Their Life Stories (ebook)

I Am Where I Come From presents the autobiographies of thirteen Native American undergraduates and graduates exploring issues of native identity, adjustment to the college environment, cultural and familial influences, and academic and career aspirations.

Book Cover

You're Hired!: Putting Your Sociology Major to Work (ebook)

Featuring conversations with more than thirty sociology majors on their career trajectories, responses from employers on why they hire sociology majors, and practical career advice, You're Hired! Putting Your Sociology Major to Workoffers readers a comprehensive account of the opportunities a sociology major provides.  

Writers and Authors

This book includes interviews with professionals in the field and covers the following areas: Biographers, Bloggers, Content Writers, Copywriters Novelists, Playwrights, Screenwriters, and Speechwriters.

Book cover

Ask the Right Questions; Get the Right Job (ebook)

This book provides a set of questions appropriate for any job candidate to ask. Review all of the questions. Choose the ones that you believe provide you with the information you need. Learn to interview the interviewer!

Book cover

Get Hired Now! (ebook)

In Get Hired Now!, Ian Siegel tells you exactly how to find a new job fast. He gives you step-by-step instructions for writing a resume that works, finding the right jobs to apply to, acing a job interview, and negotiating a job offer. 

Book Cover

Prep, Push, Pivot: Essential Career Strategies for Underrepresented Women (ebook)

Advance your career with this insightful playbook for underrepresented women. Octavia Goredema delivers an indispensable career coaching guide for women looking for a new job, dealing with job loss, pivoting to a new career, or returning to the workforce.

Search Tips for Finding for Books and eBooks

Search the library catalog for print books and the ebook database for ebooks to find more career related information.

 

For the best results, search using specific keywords or short phrases rather than full sentences, questions, or strings of words. Thinking about your topic and different aspects of your topic can help you to identify relevant keywords. Good keywords are single words (usually nouns)  OR specific phrases (two or more words that must go together to make sense). When searching for an exact phrase, use quotations.  Here is an example of some keywords and phrases:

               journalism               "speech writer"                     "public relations"                  "religious studies"         

To find books related to careers add the phrase "vocational guidance" or a keyword related to career/job searching. For example:

  • "religious studies" AND "vocational guidance"
  • "resume writing" AND journalism
  • "employment interviewing" AND "public relations"

Search Library Resources by Field of Interest

Applied Technology

Behavioral and Human ServicesBusiness, Entrepreneurialism, & ManagementComputer & Information TechnologyCulture and SocietyHealth SciencesStemVisual and Performing Arts