Library: Health Sciences: Library Resources by Field of Interest: Research Tools for Health Science Topics

Get Help

Chat with a real live librarian!

Library FAQs

Citation Help

More Virtual Help Options

Research Guides

Helpful resources for learning how to research.

Subject Guides

Library Resources

Find articles, ebooks, and streaming videos

What is a library database?

A library database is a searchable collection of different resources including articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals, streaming videos, images, and more.

Library databases are different than Google. The information contained in databases is not freely available via a google search. You have access to the databases as an SCC student, so when you access a database from off campus you will be prompted to login with your MEID and password.

Keywords

Databases deliver the best results when you search using specific keywords or short phrases rather than full sentences, questions, or strings of words. Thinking about your topic and different aspects of your topic can help you to identify relevant keywords. Good keywords are single words (usually nouns) OR specific phrases (two or more words that must go together to make sense). When searching for an exact phrase, use quotations. Here is an example of some keywords and phrases:

anatomy "strength training" "patient care" nutrition cardiorespiratory

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health journals (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
eBook Academic Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Healthsource: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Journals from many medical disciplines
PubMed This link opens in a new window Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Mostly abstracts of articles in the biomedical fields but also includes some access to full-text medical-related articles. **Use OneSearch (library.scottsdalecc.edu) to determine if SCC Library has the full-text of the article.**
ScienceDirect College Edition: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Provides access to a wide range of trusted, high-quality interdisciplinary research and scholarly literature, in physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

View a listing of library databases by subject.

Watch: OneSearch in Under 3 Minutes to learn how to search the library's online resources.