Library: Databases: Databases by Subject

Hot Topics

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Online edition of the magazine, covering current social and political issues.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window Covers hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Argumentative essays, periodical articles, and web resources for social and political issues.
Topic Finder This link opens in a new window Find new topics or keywords and discover new connections found in the top results.

Looking for eBooks?

Additional information

See a list of our databases arranged by title

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly information available online. You will find a combination of full text articles made openly available and article citations that require payment for the full text. Scottsdale Community College students can link Google Scholar to the Library's databases in order to show which articles are available full-text through the SCC Library.

Get Help

Chat with a real live librarian!

Library FAQs

Citation Help

More Virtual Help Options

General Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window General database covering all subject areas.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window General database covering all subject areas.
College in Context This link opens in a new window College in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
eBook Academic Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Online version of reference works in every major subject area.
Gale Power Search (Academic and General OneFile) This link opens in a new window General database covering all subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Indexes academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
OmniFile Full Text This link opens in a new window General database covering all subject areas.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.
Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window Popular and general interest periodicals.

Arts

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Library of digital images from the arts, humanities, and sciences.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Covers the visual arts with 30,000 peer-reviewed articles on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images.

Biography

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Biographical information from periodicals, encyclopedias, and dictionaries
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Business

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The ABI/INFORM Collection includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Accounting, Tax, & Banking Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with other key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important financial issues of the day. It provides centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations, and more.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Business magazines and journals.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window Business Insights: Global is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Business Market Research Collection allows users to conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business magazines and journals.
Economics and Theory (formerly called Business Economics and Theory Collection) This link opens in a new window This collection of 150 full-text periodicals covers topics such as economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal theory; monetary theory and financial institutions; business finance; public finance; country studies; and government regulations.
Entrepreneurship (formerly called Small Business Collection) This link opens in a new window Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window Tools for addressing legal issues, including bankruptcy, divorce, wills, patents, home buying.
ReferenceUSA (Now called Data Axle Reference Solutions) This link opens in a new window The leading source for business and residential data in the United States. It helps users of all kinds search for jobs, research U.S. businesses, create marketing and small business plans, locate specific people and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas of the U.S.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. It contains statistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources.

Careers

Career & Technical Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Career & Technical Education Database is the definitive source for vocational information for users across the college prep and academic space. The database includes nearly 1,000 full-text titles, including trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and blogs and video content. Students and instructors can research vocational topics including computer science, engineering, healthcare, building trades, law enforcement, food industry, sales and retail, and transportation.
Career Cruising This link opens in a new window Information about, and tools for exploring, careers.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window This career research database is broken down into three main sections: Job and Industry Profiles, Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills, and Career and Industry Resources. The material is drawn from a range of authoritative sources and is extensively indexed.
Films on Demand: Careers & Job Search Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides overviews of career fields across the spectrum and insights into the necessary skills for success on the job.
Salem Press: Careers This link opens in a new window A collection of careers reference eBooks.
Vocations and Career (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Communication

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Database covering advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A custom collection of more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature

Computer Science

Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and full-text coverage from over 580 journals on subjects like: criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences and investigation, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice Database supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. It includes correctional and law enforcement publications and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window Essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

Culinary Arts

AtoZ World Food This link opens in a new window The world's largest collection of international recipes and global food culture. The database contains thousands of global recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources.
Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Culinary Arts Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Culture

African American Experience This link opens in a new window This database gives voice to the African American experience from its African origins to the present day and covers history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window Reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images that illuminate the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.
AtoZ World Food This link opens in a new window The world's largest collection of international recipes and global food culture. The database contains thousands of global recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window The database offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Contemporary Women's Issues provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window Cultural and travel information for 175 countries
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window Covers history and culture from all the countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula, including content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic Diaspora, and indigenous peoples.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas (Academic) This link opens in a new window Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to the seemingly everyday aspects of American life and interest to facilitate meaningful sociological and historical insights. The database is organized chronologically from 1900 through the new millennium, with each topic center devoted to a unique decade in American history. The primary sources in each topic center—including photographs, video, and audio—give life to the names, moments, works, and trends that have defined American pop culture, from the Gibson Girls of the Gilded Age to the social media of the 21st century, while expertly authored secondary sources—including original journal articles—explore the role of popular culture in American history.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and the Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window

Dance and Theatre

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Video of dance productions and documentaries
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources through collaborations with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars. Includes live performance recordings and behind the scenes insights.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. More than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Education

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window Online version of the newspaper for college and university employees
Instructions for creating a personal account are located at https://library.scottsdalecc.edu/chronicle_domain
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and other relevant sources.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window This research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Educators Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, containing education literature and resources. It is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Education journals

Government

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window This collection has full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A custom collection of over 400 journals, covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Political Science Database is a deep and broad resource that thoroughly covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window War and Terrorism Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.

Health, Medical & Nursing

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health journals (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Consumer Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 of an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity. Public health topics covered in the collection range from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Provided by over 190 publishers, over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM are included in the collection.
Films on Demand: Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. The collection includes nursing skills, patient care and interventions, nursing foundations, diseases, disorders, and disabilities, and special topics in nursing.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections, perform cause-and-effect simulations, and immerse themselves in virtual research.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, information & technology, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration. Personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration including journals and dissertations.
HealthSource: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Consumer health magazines
Healthsource: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Journals from many medical disciplines
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) This link opens in a new window JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. JAMA is a member of The JAMA Network family of journals, which includes 10 specialty journals.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Medical, nursing, dentistry, veterinary information from the National Library of Medicine
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window From the NEJM website - The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is recognized as the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, researchers, and the global medical community.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Including nearly 400 titles, this collections current and authoritative content will be of use to both nursing professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Custom collection including over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to many topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Public Health Database is an ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to high quality, full-text publications including scholarly journals. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Mostly abstracts of articles in the biomedical fields but also includes some access to full-text medical-related articles. **Use OneSearch (library.scottsdalecc.edu) to determine if SCC Library has the full-text of the article.**
Salem Press: Health This link opens in a new window A collection of health reference eBooks.
ScienceDirect College Edition: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Provides access to a wide range of trusted, high-quality interdisciplinary research and scholarly literature, in physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

History

Arizona Memory Project This link opens in a new window The Arizona Memory Project (AMP) provides access to the wealth of primary sources in Arizona archives, museums, libraries, and other cultural institutions.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans.
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels This link opens in a new window A collection of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including National Archives and Records Administration, the United Newsreel collection, the Universal Newsreel collection, and the WPA Film Library.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window In addition to full-text historical reference books, primary source documents and biographies, History Reference Center includes full text and selective content from more than 140 leading history journals. This database also includes multimedia content including more than 45,000 images and 83+ hours of historical video.
Salem Press: History This link opens in a new window A collection of historical reference eBooks.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and the Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window World History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Hospitality

Hospitality & Tourism This link opens in a new window Indexes periodicals, company and country reports, and books in all areas of hospitality and tourism
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection of nearly 500 journals provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field.

Humanities

Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers periodicals in the humanities, including literature, arts, history, philosophy, religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Indexes academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Library of digital images from the arts, humanities, and sciences.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window The AP Newsroom database, provided by Ebsco, contains breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics and audio clips produced by the AP's network of award-winning journalists, who operate in more than 250 locations worldwide.

Browse a list of websites with copyright-free images.

Language and Literature

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources through collaborations with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars. Includes live performance recordings and behind the scenes insights.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Literary works, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographical information, literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, time periods, and countries.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, the OED is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Salem Press: Literature This link opens in a new window Reference, literary criticism, reviews, interviews, bibliographies of authors and their works. Includes titles such as Magill's, Critical Insights and Critical Surveys. Citations provided.

Law

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window Essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window Tools for addressing legal issues, including bankruptcy, divorce, wills, patents, home buying.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Religion and the Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and the Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window

Music

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Covers music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship, with 51,000 articles, including 33,000 biographies and over 5,000 images.

Browse a list of websites with copyright-free music.

Newspapers

AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window The AP Newsroom database, provided by Ebsco, contains breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics and audio clips produced by the AP's network of award-winning journalists, who operate in more than 250 locations worldwide.
Arizona Historical Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window Contains Arizona newspapers from 1850-1929
Arizona Republic This link opens in a new window ProQuest News and Newspapers database includes the Arizona Republic
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels This link opens in a new window A collection of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including National Archives and Records Administration, the United Newsreel collection, the Universal Newsreel collection, and the WPA Film Library.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1985-present
New York Times (June 1980 to current) This link opens in a new window The ProQuest National Newspapers Core database indexes The New York Times from 1980 to present.
News (Gale OneFile - formerly Infotrac Newstand) This link opens in a new window Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas of the U.S.
SCC Campus News (Student Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Available by semester from 1970 to 2012.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window This database provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1984-present.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1987-present.

Psychology

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window This esteemed collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window This database is an essential resource for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Reference Sources

Britannica Spanish Reference Center This link opens in a new window Enciclopedia Moderna for high school ages and up, and Britannica Escolar Online for ages 6-12
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Online version of reference works in every major subject area
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Contains the encyclopedia as well as other research tools (dictionary, atlas, quotations, and more).
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Online version of reference works in every major subject area.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window Social and behavioral sciences reference material comprising over 3,900 articles, including 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Merck Manuals: Professional and Consumer This link opens in a new window Wide range of medical topics, including disorders, tests, diagnoses, and drugs. Online multimedia formats include audio, 3D models, and animations.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, the OED is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas (Academic) This link opens in a new window Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to the seemingly everyday aspects of American life and interest to facilitate meaningful sociological and historical insights. The database is organized chronologically from 1900 through the new millennium, with each topic center devoted to a unique decade in American history. The primary sources in each topic center—including photographs, video, and audio—give life to the names, moments, works, and trends that have defined American pop culture, from the Gibson Girls of the Gilded Age to the social media of the 21st century, while expertly authored secondary sources—including original journal articles—explore the role of popular culture in American history.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window Reference eBooks covering topics in literature, history, science and health, biographies, careers. Several subject-specific encyclopedias included. Citations provided.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. It contains statistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window Index of the collections of thousands of libraries around the world

Religion & Philosophy

Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This custom collection provides coverage of different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Two hundred and fifty subject-appropriate full-text periodicals are included.
Religion and the Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
The database includes Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles.

Science

Earth, Atmosphere & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection includes the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database with complete with scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Included are the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (AFSA), and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). This collection features specialized editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth's air, land, and water environments.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window More than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A custom collection of nearly 200 journals providing robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Gale Interactive: Chemistry This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive: Chemistry covers topics like the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Users can dive deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore interactive models. Clicking through each session displays relevant reference content related to the image, complete with cross-searching capabilities to locate the right information. These powerful visual tools can be used for in-class demonstrations or help with homework and research assignments.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections, perform cause-and-effect simulations, and immerse themselves in virtual research.
Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A custom collection of nearly 50 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscapting, and other areas of horticulture.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window General Science Full Text covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window This database covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Materials Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Topics covered include metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and deal with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.
Nature This link opens in a new window Online edition of the peer-reviewed journal of science and technology
Salem Press: Science This link opens in a new window A collection of science reference eBooks.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window Website of the peer-reviewed journal with access to the full-text of issues
ScienceDirect College Edition: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Provides access to a wide range of trusted, high-quality interdisciplinary research and scholarly literature, in physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Scientific American This link opens in a new window A popular magazine that covers research, ideas, and knowledge in science, health, technology, and science.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Social Sciences

Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window The database offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Contemporary Women's Issues provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 journals.
Economics and Theory (formerly called Business Economics and Theory Collection) This link opens in a new window This collection of 150 full-text periodicals covers topics such as economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal theory; monetary theory and financial institutions; business finance; public finance; country studies; and government regulations.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window Social and behavioral sciences reference material comprising over 3,900 articles, including 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social sciences periodicals
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and the Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window

Video

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Video of dance productions and documentaries
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources through collaborations with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars. Includes live performance recordings and behind the scenes insights.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Educational titles in dozens of subject areas
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels This link opens in a new window A collection of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including National Archives and Records Administration, the United Newsreel collection, the Universal Newsreel collection, and the WPA Film Library.
Films on Demand: Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. The collection includes nursing skills, patient care and interventions, nursing foundations, diseases, disorders, and disabilities, and special topics in nursing.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window Hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events.

Licensed Kanopy Films Provides a list of films that SCC currently has access to from Kanopy.

Browse a list of websites with free collections of videos.