Print Materials Deselection Guidelines
There will be a 1-5 cycle of review for the circulating collection, depending on the LC Classification. Deselection will be based on the following criteria, and materials withdrawn from the collection will be disposed of according to District policy.
Superseded editions not containing unique information, data, or providing a historical reference not available in the most current edition
Titles unused within a reasonable time period (5 years) based upon subject and scope of the work, except for such items considered classics or standard editions
Duplicate copies, unless a proven demand exists for multiple copies of a work
Materials that contain outdated or factually inaccurate information
Items in poor condition that are beyond reasonable preservation efforts (based on student needs and availability, replacement titles may be ordered)
Relevance of the item to the current SCC curriculum
Value of variant editions
Physical condition of material:
acid damaged, aged,
brittle materials;
moldy, mildewed materials; torn or missing pages/pieces
loose or broken bindings/pieces
damage from contact with liquids or other substances
Physical space limitations
eBook Deselection Guidelines
Superseded editions not containing unique information, data, or providing a historical reference not available in the most current edition
Titles unused within a reasonable time period (5 years) based upon subject and scope of the work, except for such items considered classics or standard editions
Materials that contain outdated or factually inaccurate information
Relevance of the item to the current SCC curriculum
Value of variant editions
Electronic Resources Deselection Guidelines
Changes to academic programs or curriculum invalidate the need for the resource
The currency or reliability of the resource's information has lost its value
Another Internet site or resource offers better or more comprehensive coverage and/or value
Pricing/usage statistics
Serials Deselection Guidelines
The following additional criteria will be considered when deselecting serials:
Incomplete or short runs of titles, especially those no longer being received
Titles that contain information that is not useful long-term and have automatic discard patterns such as "Library retains current 2 years"
Issues that are available in other formats
Replacements
Resources that are missing, lost, or withdrawn because of wear are not automatically replaced. Decisions to replace lost, damaged, missing or worn-out materials will be based on the following criteria:
Item still meets the Library’s selection criteria
Frequency of use justifies replacement
Item is used for class reserve reading or is on an assigned reading list
Item is still in print
Item has been superseded by a newer edition
Preservation
The following actions are taken in order to insure proper preservation of library materials:
Book repair is provided for damaged materials when possible
Binding is used to preserve periodicals and other materials as needed
Deselection Process
The Collection Weeding Process at SCC outlines the steps of deselection and can be used by any faculty member. The eBook Weeding Process outlines the steps of deselection for librarians.
The librarian in charge of Collection Development will maintain outreach and marketing efforts around the print and eBook collections. Ideas include:
Emailing faculty with lists of new books related to their disciplines.
Updating physical book displays around the library monthly.
Taking pictures of updated monthly displays and sharing to the Buzz.
Marketing discipline-specific eBooks with flyers in buildings where disciplines are taught.
Promoting the SCC Book Club and book club kits.
There will be times when the inclusion of an item in our collection is challenged. SCC staff, faculty, students, or community members can suggest an item be removed or reconsidered for the collection. The procedures for reconsideration include:
Individual(s) suggesting reconsideration fills out the Request for Reconsideration of Library Material form available on our website (paper copies can be made available if needed)
Department or division chair will notify administrators, as needed.
Librarians will meet and evaluate the request and the material in question.
A decision by the librarians will be made within 30 days of the reconsideration request, if made during the academic school year. If the request is made during intersession or summer, the reconsideration decision will be made within 30 days after librarians have returned to their contracted schedule.
The Librarian in charge of Collection Development will email the individual(s) with decision and rationale.
