Library: NUR152: Database Search Tutorials

CINAHL

In this video, you will learn how to perform a basic search in CINAHL.

PubMed provides several video tutorials to help you search their database.

What is in PubMed? Learn what you can find in PubMed, and how it got there.
PubMed: Find articles from a citation A brief tutorial on how to find articles from citation information using PubMed.
PubMed: Find articles on a topic A brief tutorial on how to find articles on a topic using PubMed.
PubMed: Find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder A brief tutorial on how to find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder using PubMed.
PubMed: Get the full text for an article A brief tutorial on how to get the full text for an article cited in PubMed.
PubMed subject search: How it works A brief tutorial on how automatic term mapping and explosion enhance your PubMed search.

In this video you will learn how to search using MeSH Subject headings in the CINAHL and MEDLINE databases.

In this video you will learn how to use the features within the Nursing and Allied Health database.

When searching literature databases, you can utilize specific features to make your search results more relevant and specific. This includes using quotation marks around phrases, truncating root words, and using connectors between keywords and phrases.

Search Connectors and other Search Tips
BOOLEAN CONNECTOR	ACTION	EXAMPLE
AND	Combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. Narrows the search.	"childhood obesity"AND exercise would find items that contain both terms.
OR	Combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. OR gets you MORE!!	"hypertension" OR "high blood pressure" would find items that contain either term.
NOT	Excludes terms so that the search result does not have the term. Narrows the search.	dementia NOT Alzheimer's would find articles that mention dementia but eliminate articles that mention Alzheimer's in key fields.
PHRASE SEARCHING	Use quotation marks around a group of words to search for them as a phrase.	"blood disorders" looks for these words in this order.
TRUNCATION	Truncation is a way to tell the computer to look for variations of words that start with the same letters. It's done by adding an * to the end of a word	nurs* searches for nurse, nurses, or nursing