Browse all the library databases.
Shining a light on the technology currently being developed to revolutionize communication, The Future of Language distinguishes myth from reality and superstition from scientifically-based prediction as it plots out the importance of language and raises questions about its future.
I Am Where I Come From presents the autobiographies of thirteen Native American undergraduates and graduates exploring issues of native identity, adjustment to the college environment, cultural and familial influences, and academic and career aspirations.
This book is indented to introduce new ideas and theories by challenging the current modern micro-and-macro economic theories. It will contend how the "Economy Pricing System" is about to revolutionize how people look at a real economy's micro and macro effects.
This book captures the body of thought called “Western philosophy” with an Eastern net—Zen as embodied in haiku. It offers profiles of 139 Western philosophers by using a traditional three-line haiku format of 5-7-5 syllables in order to capture each philosopher's ideas in a manner that is both concise and playful.
Open Judaism offers a big-tent welcome to all Jews and Judaism. It is at once an invitation to the spiritually seeking Jew, a clarion call for a deeply pluralistic and inclusive Judaism, and a dynamic exploration of the remarkable array of thought within Judaism today.
This introduction to East Asian Buddhism, focusing specifically on China, Korea, and Japan. It begins with a detailed historical introduction that includes an overview of the development of the various schools of Buddhism in East Asia and traces the transmission of Buddhism from Northwest India to China in the first century CE, and then to Korea and Japan in the fourth and sixth centuries CE.
A groundbreaking study of the journalism startups that are solving the local news crisis one community at a time. A must-read for activists, entrepreneurs, and journalists who want to start local news outlets in their communities.
From the widely acclaimed poet, novelist, critic, and scholar, a lucid and edifying exploration of the building blocks of poetry and how they've been used over the centuries to assemble the most imperishable poems.
Search for more print books and ebooks.
In this episode of Empire Builders, we look at the accomplishments of this empire, particularly the construction of its great buildings at Sacsayhuaman in Cusco and Machu Picchu. We also examine the beliefs of the Inca, the divine power of their Emperor, how they were defeated by the Spanish, and what they have left behind since their defeat 500 years ago.
High economic growth, often measured by Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is a central goal of many countries. But an ever-increasing GDP may be neither sustainable nor desirable in the long run. Some scholars and policy makers propose alternative models like "green growth," requiring GDP to take into account its impact on the environment, or "degrowth," shrinking economies rather than expanding them by reducing consumption and production.
Zora Neale Hurston has long been considered a literary giant of the Harlem Renaissance, but her anthropological and ethnographic endeavors were equally important and impactful. This is an in-depth biography of the influential author whose groundbreaking anthropological work would challenge assumptions about race, gender and cultural superiority that had long defined the field in the 19th century.
Discover the secrets of storytelling with the five key ingredients of fiction - settings, characters, dialogue, narrator and plots. Use these elements to analyze and appreciate your favorite stories on a deeper level.
A library database is a searchable collection of different resources including articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals, streaming videos, images, and more.
Library databases are different than Google. The information contained in databases is not freely available via a google search, but ou have access to the databases as an SCC student.
Databases deliver the best results when you search using specific keywords or short phrases rather than full sentences, questions, or strings of words. Thinking about your topic and different aspects of your topic can help you to identify relevant keywords. Good keywords are single words (usually nouns) OR specific phrases (two or more words that must go together to make sense). When searching for an exact phrase, use quotations. Here is an example of some keywords and phrases:
"interpersonal communication" "Ottoman empire" "religious violence" "personal narrative"
Watch: Expand Your Search Results with this Keyword Hack to improve your search results.
