Library: Law: Databases

Get Help

Chat with a real live librarian!

Library Databases - Articles

Check out the databases below to find articles about the law and legal issues. You can also choose from our full listing of databases. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login to the databses with your MEID and password.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Online edition of the magazine, covering current social and political issues.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window Tools for addressing legal issues, including bankruptcy, divorce, wills, patents, home buying.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window This collection has full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Argumentative essays, periodical articles, and web resources for social and political issues.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window This database provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.

Library Databases

What is a library database?

A library database is a collection of different sources such as magazine articles, journal articles, ebooks, streaming videos, images, book reviews, and more. You can find all these sources by searching with keywords, author names, or article titles.

Search Tips

Type specific keywords or short phrases into the database search box rather than full sentences or questions.
Use AND to connect 2 or more different key concepts.
- Search Example: censorship AND internet
- Search Example: copyright AND music
Brainstorm a few different keywords that relate to the topic you are researching.
- Brainstorm Example: copyright, intellectual property, ownership
Use quotations around an exact phrase
- Example: "intellectual property" "First Amendment"
Use OR to connect 2 or more synonyms or related terms. Try a few searches with different keywords to get different results.
- Search Example: (copyright OR "intellectual property") AND music