Keywords

Databases deliver the best results when you search using specific keywords or short phrases rather than full sentences, questions, or strings of words. Thinking about your topic can help you to identify relevant keywords. You can also use the background and reference articles to identify keywords.  As you read through those articles, take note of the terms and keywords that are used.  Keep a log of these keywords, you will need them when you are ready to search the databases. 

What makes a good keyword?

1. Good keywords are single words (usually nouns)  OR specific phrases (two or more words that must go together to make sense).  Here is an example of some keywords and phrases:
   1. false arrest
   2. solitary confinement         
   3. law enforcement       
   4. gangs           
   5. gun regulation
      
2. Try to use keywords that are more specific than general.  For example, if you want to research the criminal justice system think about specific aspects of the criminal justice system.  Those keywords might be:
   1. reform             
   2. drug crime             
   3. racial profiling             
   4. sentencing       

Search Statements

Once you have a list of keywords, you can create search statements. A search statement is made up of two or more keywords connected with the word AND. The search statement is what you will type into the search box in the database.  Remember, searching databases is different than searching Google, so you must search in the way the database will best respond.  Here is a few examples of search statements.

1. gangs AND police AND "racial profiling" - this search statement will return results that include all 3 of these key words/phrases
2. gangs AND drugs  - this search statement will return results that include both of these keywords ***but the results may not be related to criminal justice.***  Be sure to include relevant terms in the search statement.
3. gangs AND drugs AND "criminal justice"  - this search statement will return results that include all 3 of these key words/phrases

Search Tips 

1. Quotes - use quotes around two or more words that must go together.  This tells the database to search for that exact phrase. Avoid putting quotes around words that do not need to be an exact phrase.  For example, instead of searching "criminal justice careers" try searching  "criminal justice" AND careers

2. Synonyms and Related Terms - Think about synonyms and related terms for keywords that can be used in searching. 

   1. If you are searching for drugs also try the keyword narcotics.

      1. Search statement: drugs AND "criminal justice"

      2. Search statement: narcotics AND "criminal justice"

   2. If you are searching for gangs also try the phrase "organized crime"

   3. Search statement: "criminal justice" AND gangs AND drugs
   4. Search statement: "criminal justice" AND "organized crime" AND drugs
       

3. Read your search statement: Does the search statement include the relevant terms for what you are looking for?  Remember you may need to search several times with different search statements.  Try different combinations of keywords to get different results.  Switch out keywords for synonyms or related terms. 

Next: Select the tab, Step 3: Search Databases

Database Searching 

Now that you have at least a few search statements ready to go, you can begin to search for information in the library databases.  You can use the library's OneSearch  (searches multiple databases at once) or you can choose to search within a specific database such as the Criminal Justice database. 

Watch OneSearch basics for search tips.

Search Options

Utilizing search options will help you narrow down or make your search results more specific by letting you select the options you want. Each library database may look different, but all have similar search options, or what we sometimes call filters or limiters.  These are some options to look for:

1. Full text: Select this option to view results you can read entirely online, i.e. articles, ebooks, etc. 

2. Scholarly/Peer Review: Choose this option to view articles from scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. This will remove magazine and newspaper articles from your list of results.  

3. Format, Content, or Source type: Choose a particular type of resource such as a book, newspaper article, etc. For example, if you select newspaper, then only newspaper articles will appear in your result list.

4. Publication Date: Choose to limit results to a particular date range. This can be helpful to filter out older information if you select to look at information published within the last three, five, or ten years.  

Search Results

1. Click on a title from the results list to get more information about it.  You will be able to view the author, publication, etc information, as well as access the full text if applicable. 

2. Other helpful information that you may find is a list of keywords or subject terms.  Think of these terms as tags that have been selected because they are keywords closely associated with the content of the article, book, or video.  In other words, if you like the source, try using the suggested keywords in a search statement to find more like it. 

3. You can also find tools for printing, emailing, and citing. Also, see the Citing Sources tab at the top of the page for more info on citing. 

Here is a screenshot showing the features described above.

Next Steps

1. Read the abstracts (summaries) of articles or skim through sources before deciding if it is a good source for you. Don't rely just on the title.  As you read, take note of important keywords that you can include in your search statements.

2. Revise search statements as needed. Try searching with different keywords and in different databases for comprehensive research.

3. If you have any questions or need help with your research please use the 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service or drop by our Virtual Reference Desk.