Library: Eight week courses: Further Research

If you'd like to do additional research we suggest the databases/search engines and keywords found on this page.

Search

The library subscribes to dozens of databases. Most are indexes to and full-text articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers. Other types of databases include libraries of streaming videos, electronic books, entries from reference books, and business and legal resources.

eBook Academic Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Online version of reference works in every major subject area.

Search for Video

Search a Specific Streaming Video Database

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Video of dance productions and documentaries
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources through collaborations with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars. Includes live performance recordings and behind the scenes insights.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Educational titles in dozens of subject areas
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels This link opens in a new window A collection of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including National Archives and Records Administration, the United Newsreel collection, the Universal Newsreel collection, and the WPA Film Library.
Films on Demand: Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. The collection includes nursing skills, patient care and interventions, nursing foundations, diseases, disorders, and disabilities, and special topics in nursing.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window Hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events.

Or look through our licensed Kanopy films

Search the Library Catalog for books and DVDs available at the SCC Library, including course reserve materials.

You can search for specific titles, authors, or keywords in the box below:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar-if you use Google Scholar we suggest you configure your settings to be able to access full text provided by the library as shown in the video below:

Suggested Keywords

These are some keywords we have found to be successful when searching for articles:

accelerated courses

intensive courses

accelerated degree program

compressed courses

condensed courses

ESL

critical thinking

student perception

faculty

student engagement

nontraditional

completion

enrollment

course scheduling and models