The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. When first encountering film theory, students are often confronted with a dense, interlocking set of texts full of arcane terminology, inexact formulations, sliding definitions, and abstract generalities. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory challenges these first impressions by aiming to make film theory accessible and open to new readers. Edward Branigan and Warren Buckland have commissioned over 50 scholars from around the globe to address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions. The result is a highly accessible volume that clearly defines, and analyzes step by step, many of the fundamental concepts in film theory, ranging from familiar concepts such as ¿Apparatus¿, ¿Gaze¿, ¿Genre¿, and ¿Identification¿, to less well-known and understood, but equally important concepts, such as Alain Badiou¿s ¿Inaesthetics¿, Gilles Deleuze¿s ¿Time-Image¿, and Jean-Luc Nancy¿s ¿Evidence¿. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an ideal reference book for undergraduates of film studies, as well as graduate students new to the discipline.
A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir by
(Applause Books). Featuring rumpled PIs, shyster lawyers, corrupt politicians, double-crossers, femmes fatales, and, of course, losers who find themselves down on their luck yet again, film noir is a perennially popular cinematic genre. This extensive encyclopedia describes movies from noir's earliest days and even before, looking at some of noir's ancestors in US and European cinema as well as noir's more recent offshoots, from neonoirs to erotic thrillers. Entries are arranged alphabetically, covering movies from all over the world from every continent save Antarctica with briefer details provided for several hundred additional movies within those entries. A copious appendix contains filmographies of prominent directors, actors, and writers. With coverage of blockbusters and program fillers from Going Straight (US 1916) to Broken City (US 2013) via Nora Inu (Japan 1949), O Anthropos tou Trainou (Greece 1958), El Less Wal Kilab (Egypt 1962), Reportaje a la Muerte (Peru 1993), Zift (Bulgaria 2008), and thousands more, A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir is an engrossing and essential reference work that should be on the shelves of every cinephile.
Critical Insights by
Regarded as The Master of Suspense and one of the most influential filmmakers of all time, Alfred Hitchcock is remembered for a long career, consisting of more than fifty films made in six decades. This volume discusses themes that make a film truly Hitchcockian-the plot twist, voyeurism, and the innocent man accused-and analyzes some of Hitchcock's best-known work, including Psycho, North by Northwest, Vertigo, Rear Window, and more.
Required Screening by
Written with college and university students in mind, the essays in R. J. Cardullo's Required Screening: Fifteen Must-See Films for the Art-House Connoisseur, 1924-1980 cover some of the central films treated--and central issues raised--in today's cinema courses and provide students with practical models to help them improve their own writing and analytical skills. Required Screening is aimed not only at students, however: it is also directed at teachers and cinephiles with an interest in world cinema in particular and cinema studies in general, as well as at those educated or cultured readers with an interest in the practice of film analysis and criticism. This casebook is geographically diverse, with ten countries represented: Germany, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Sweden, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Japan, India, Cuba, and Australia. Among the films and directors treated are Battleship Potemkin, Rashomon, Truffaut, Fellini, Apocalypse Now, The Blue Angel, Bergman, Satyajit Ray, La notte, Memories of Underdevelopment, Chaplin, and Murnau. Moreover, the essays in Required Screening are clear and readable--that is, sophisticated and meaty yet not overly technical or jargon-heavy. This makes them perfect introductions to their respective films as well as important contributions to the field of film studies in general. In addition, the book's critical apparatus features credits, images, bibliographies for all films discussed as well as a general bibliography, filmographies for all the directors, a glossary of film terms, a guide to film analysis, and a list of topics for writing and discussion, together with a thoroughgoing index.
The Ultimate Woody Allen Film Companion by
A complete look at the extensive, ageless, unparalleled filmography of Woody Allen. Writer, actor, director, comedian, author, and musician, Woody Allen is one of the most culturally and cinematically influential filmmakers of all time. His films - he has over 45 writing and directing credits to his name - range from slapstick to tragedy, farce to fantasy. As one of history's most prolific moviemakers, his style and comic sensibility have been imitated, but never replicated, by countless other filmmakers over the years. In The Ultimate Woody Allen Film Companion, film writer Jason Bailey profiles every one of Allen's films: from his debut feature, What's Up, Tiger Lily, through slapstick classics such as Take the Money and Run and Sleeper; Academy Award-winning films such as Annie Hall and Hannah and Her Sisters; and recent gems such as Midnight in Paris and Blue Jasmine. Bailey also includes essays on the fascinating themes that color Allen's works, from death and Freud to music and New York City. Getting up close and personal with the actors and actresses that have brought the iconic films to life, this book's behind-the-scenes stories span the entire career of a man whose catalog has grown into a timeless cornerstone of American pop culture. Complete with full cast lists, production details, and full-color images and artwork, The Ultimate Woody Allen Film Companion is the ultimate, indispensable reference to one of cinema's most beloved and important figures.
Search Tips
Type specific keywords or short phrases into the database search box rather than full sentences or questions. Use AND to connect 2 or more different key concepts. Use quotations around exact phrases.
Brainstorm a few different keywords that relate to the topic you are researching. Use OR to connect 2 or more synonyms or related terms. Try a few searches with different keywords to get different results.
Suggested databases:
You can also search several databases at once using OneSearch.
If looking on the internet for information please remember to evaluate your source.
