Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDatabase covering advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowA custom collection of more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowOnline version of reference works in every major subject area
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowA large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowWith more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Global Road WarriorThis link opens in a new windowCultural and travel information for 175 countries
History Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowIn addition to full-text historical reference books, primary source documents and biographies, History Reference Center includes full text and selective content from more than 140 leading history journals. This database also includes multimedia content including more than 45,000 images and 83+ hours of historical video.
Military & Government CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis collection has full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas (Academic)This link opens in a new windowPop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to the seemingly everyday aspects of American life and interest to facilitate meaningful sociological and historical insights. The database is organized chronologically from 1900 through the new millennium, with each topic center devoted to a unique decade in American history. The primary sources in each topic center—including photographs, video, and audio—give life to the names, moments, works, and trends that have defined American pop culture, from the Gibson Girls of the Gilded Age to the social media of the 21st century, while expertly authored secondary sources—including original journal articles—explore the role of popular culture in American history.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowThis custom collection provides coverage of different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Two hundred and fifty subject-appropriate full-text periodicals are included.
U.S. History (Gale in Context)This link opens in a new windowU.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History (Gale in Context)This link opens in a new windowWorld History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Books in the library
Etiquette and Taboos Around the World by Ken Taylor (Editor); Victoria Williams (Editor)An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups. * Provides comprehensive coverage of many of the world's countries and cultures that enables readers to make insightful cross-cultural comparisons * Directly supports the National Geography Standards by examining cultural mosaics * Provides relevant and useful information for readers preparing for study-abroad excursions or other international travel
Call Number: BJ1815 .E86 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-05
They Do What? by Javier A. Galván (Editor)This single-volume work covers many traditions, customs, and activities Westerners may find unusual or shocking, covering everything from the Ashanti people's funeral celebrations to wife-carrying competitions in Finland. * Provides a unique global perspective via content from 48 authors currently working, living, or traveling in most continents of the world * Supplies interdisciplinary points of view by incorporating aspects of religion, food, festivals, history, social practices, funeral traditions, and grand community celebrations * Serves to highlight distinct cultural differences while also enabling readers to discover how much people have in common and to consider how certain American traditions might seem "strange" to people from outside the United States
Call Number: GT76 .T43 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-19
An Abridged History of World Costume and Fashion by JoAnne Eicher; Daniel Delis HillFor courses in Fashion Design, Fashion/Costume History, Fashion Sketching/Illustration, and Theater Costuming. An Abridged History of World Costume and Fashion presents a comprehensive survey of dress from around the world including Asia, Africa, the Islamic Empire, and the Ancient Americas. This extensive study features descriptions and analysis of men's, women's and children's clothing, accessories, and cultural styles from prehistory into the twenty-first century. Lavishly illustrated, it features more than 1600 images-including over 100 in full color-and is a valuable resource for students of historical dress, fashion designers, theater costumers, textile researchers, costume collectors and curators, and anyone interest in clothing and style customs of the world.
Call Number: GT511 .H55 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-19
Survey of Historic Costume by Phyllis G. Tortora; Sara B. MarckettiSurvey of Historic Costume, 6th Edition, is the best-selling introduction to Western dress from the ancient world through the twenty-first century. Each chapter presents social, cross-cultural, environmental, geographic, and artistic influences on clothing. With visuals, illustrated tables, and in-depth discussions, readers come to recognize recurring themes and concepts and understand the role of dress from a diverse, global perspective. The new edition features more than 1,000 full-color photographs and illustrations, a new feature that examines global dress, and a fully updated chapter on the twenty-first century. New Student Resources ~ Survey of Historic Costume STUDIO features digital study tools such as visual flashcards, self-quizzes, videos, and assignments and activities and includes a free Student Study Guide eBook to help students master concepts and improve grades. New to this Edition ~ Chapter Timelines present an overview and images of historic events in each chapter focusing on fashion and textiles, politics and conflicts, decorative and fine arts, economics and trade, technology, and religion ~ New Global Connections boxed highlights dress and textiles from around the world including China, India, Japan, Latin America, Africa and more ~ New Chapter 20 covering twenty-first century dress from 2000 to present Key Features ~ Contemporary Comments from contemporary sources provide a sense of the attitude toward clothing of individuals of the period ~ Modern Influences photo feature explains historic costume is reinterpreted in modern fashion design ~ Visual Summary Tables show clear line drawing of period garments and Illustrated Tables depict important accessories, footwear and headwear ~ Companion Survey of Historic Costume Student Study Guide (9781628922349) includes historic snapshots, review questions, summary tables, visual quizzes and glossary of key terms. Teaching Resources ~ Instructor's Guide including sample syllabi and units based on the timeline in the book, chapter objectives, lecture notes, discussion questions, additional research projects, assignments, and an answer key for the Student Study Guide ~Test Bank with multiple choice, true/false and essay questions for each chapter with answer key ~ Image Bank with all the illustrations and photos from the text ~ PowerPoint presentations for each chapter PLEASE NOTE- Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501395253. STUDIO Instant Access can also be purchased or rented separately on BloomsburyFashionCentral.com.
Call Number: GT580 .T67 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-12
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary by Cherie D. Abbey (Editor); Jack Santino (Foreword by)Details more than 3,000 observances from all 50 states and more than 100 nations.
Call Number: GT3925 .H64 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-29
Art in World History by Mary Hollingsworth; Giulio C. Argan (Introduction by)A guide to the establishment of the library which covers materials acquisition, the organization and usage of the library's collection to provide a variety of services and the use of automation. This book aims to instruct the librarian on managing the small library effectively.
Call Number: N5300 .H674 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Egyptian Art by Jaromir Malek; Nordine Haddad (Translator); Reinhold HellerFrom the geometrical precision of the pyramids to the golden treasures found in Tutankhamun's tomb, the art of ancient Egypt has an enduring capacity to attract and intrigue. These remarkable works of art are the concrete expression of the ancient Egyptians' way of life and their attitudes to religion and the afterlife. In this clear and comprehensive introduction, Jaromir Malek deftly traces Egyptian art from its prehistoric origins, through 3, 000 years of astonishing achievements in the era of the pharaohs, to the conquest of Egypt by the Romans.
Call Number: N5350 .M256 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-19
Medieval Art by Veronica SekulesThis refreshing new look at Medieval art conveys a very real sense of the impact of art on everyday life in Europe from 1000 to 1500. It examines the importance of art in the expression and spread of knowledge and ideas, including notions of the heroism and justice of war, and the dominantview of Christianity. Taking its starting point from issues of contemporary relevance, such as the environment, the identity of the artist, and the position of women, the book also highlights the attitudes and events specific to the sophisticated visual culture of the Middle Ages, and goes on to link this period to theRenaissance. The fascinating question of whether commercial and social activities between countries encouraged similar artistic taste and patronage, or contributed to the defining of cultural difference in Europe, is fully explored.
Call Number: N5970 .S45 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-19
World Architecture by Will PryceWill Pryce unveils a world of beauty and genius in this unparalleled, specially photographed survey of the world's architectural master- pieces. More than 350 color photographs celebrate the finest buildings from over two thousand years of civilization: Hagia Sophia, the Gothic cathedrals of Europe, Islamic masterworks at Isfahan, the Taj Mahal, the Palace of Westminster, Gehry's iconic Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, and much more.There are some eighty buildings featured, more than forty of which receive in-depth attention in detailed photo essays. Pryce's accompanying texts and commentaries provide an extra dimension of understanding for the contexts in which they were created, and of the evolution of architecture through history.
Call Number: NA200 .P79 2008
Publication Date: 2008-11-17
A History of Western Architecture by David WatkinIn his highly acclaimed reference work David Watkin traces the history of western architecture from the earliest times in Mesopotamia and Egypt to the eclectic styles of the twenty-first century. The author emphasizes the ongoing vitality of the Classical language of architecture, underlining the continuity between, say, the work of Ictinus in fifth-century BC Athens and that of McKim, Mead and White in twentieth-century New York. Authoritative, comprehensive and highly illustrated, this fifth edition has been expanded to bring the story of western architecture right up to date and includes a separate final chapter on twenty-first century developments.
Call Number: NA200 .W412 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-21
Furniture by Edward Lucie-SmithIn this illuminating history, text and illustrations combine to offer a view of furniture not as a succession of collectors' pieces, but as a statement about the society that created it. Edward Lucie-Smith offers insights into almost every period, from the prehistoric to the postmodern--from Neolithic tables to 1960s conversation pits, and from the ceremonial chairs of Egypt in the thirteenth century BC to the designs of John Makepeace.
Call Number: NK2270 .L82 1993
Publication Date: 1985-02-17
Furniture in History, 3000 B. C.-2000 A. D by Leslie Pina; Leslie A. PiñaFurniture in History 3000 B.C.-2000 A.D. takes a new approach to a very old subject. By focusing on the constant theme of innovation and change, it discusses the history of furniture in the West--from ancient times to present. Its excellent coverage of modern periods, designers, and styles gives the book a depth and breadth not found in competing texts. Redesigned in this edition, it includes hundreds of illustrations and new photos from a variety of sources--including the Cleveland Museum of Art. Each chapter includes chronologies, designer contributions and historical highlights that make it a comprehensive volume on the evolution of style.
Call Number: NK2270 .P56 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
Weapon by Roger Ford (Contribution by); R. G. Grant (Contribution by)A spectacular visual guide to the epic 4,000-year history of weaponry, created in association with the Smithsonian Institution. Weapon: A Visual History of Arms and Armor tells this epic story of the entire spectrum of weaponry through stunning photography and authoritative coverage, from the stone axes of the earliest warfare to the heavy artillery of today's armies. Take a journey through the centuries, from the Viking sword to the Baker rifle to the AK-47, as you explore the forms and functions of the greatest arms of all time, the warrior types that changed history, and the weapons that changed the face of warfare. Richly detailed catalogs showcase many weapons at their actual size, outlining the timeframe, weight, size, and country of origin to create a comprehensive profile of each. Now revised and updated to include brand-new content and expanded sections on cannons and modern guns, Weapon: A Visual History of Arms and Armor provides a stunning overview of the tools that have been at the cutting edge of history, determining the rise of kingdoms and the fall of empires.