Library: PSY 101 (Sztapka): Neurotransmitters/Neuromodulators for PPT

Get Help

Chat with a real live librarian!

Neurotransmitters/Neuromodulators for PPT

To find articles about neurotransmitters/neuromodulators, search the library databases.

What is a library database?

A library database is a collection of different sources such as magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, ebooks, streaming videos, and images. You can find all these sources by searching with keywords. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login to the databases with your MEID and password.

Search Tips

Searching library databases is different than searching Google. Databases deliver the best results when you search using specific keywords or short phrases into the search box rather than full sentences or questions. Use AND to connect 2 or more different keywords. Quotations around two or more words will find the exact phrase.

Search Example: "neurotransmitter release" AND depression
Search Example: neuromodulator AND headache

Brainstorm a few different keywords that relate to the topic you are researching. Use OR to connect 2 or more synonyms or related terms. Try a few searches with different keywords to get different results.

Brainstorm synonyms: headache, migraine, "cluster headache"
Search Example: (headache OR migraine) AND neuromodulator

Refine Your Results

In most databases, the results page gives you options to further refine the list of results (look to either the left or right side of the page). These options include Full Text, published date, document type, etc.

Always select Full Text to make sure only full articles appear in the list of results.
Limit the publication date to articles from the last 10 years, except for articles that are written by the psychologist whose theories you are researching. These are articles may be much older than 10 years but are valuable sources of information.

The following are recommended databases for finding articles and information on neurotransmitters/neuromodulators:

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window General database covering all subject areas.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health journals (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window More than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Online version of reference works in every major subject area.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Healthsource: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Journals from many medical disciplines
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window Social and behavioral sciences reference material comprising over 3,900 articles, including 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Medical, nursing, dentistry, veterinary information from the National Library of Medicine
Merck Manuals: Professional and Consumer This link opens in a new window Wide range of medical topics, including disorders, tests, diagnoses, and drugs. Online multimedia formats include audio, 3D models, and animations.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window This esteemed collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window This database is an essential resource for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Mostly abstracts of articles in the biomedical fields but also includes some access to full-text medical-related articles. **Use OneSearch (library.scottsdalecc.edu) to determine if SCC Library has the full-text of the article.**
ScienceDirect College Edition: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Provides access to a wide range of trusted, high-quality interdisciplinary research and scholarly literature, in physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.