Welcome to the fine artist field If you are interested in a career as a fine artist, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields?...This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Art Media -Conceptual Art -Fiber Art -Illustration -Installation -Mixed Media -Murals -New Media -Painting -Performance Art -Photography -Printmaking -Sculpture
An integral resource for aspiring artists, this third edition updates key pieces of the classic Starting Your Career as an Artist. In this comprehensive manual, veteran art career professionals Angie Wojak and Stacy Miller show aspiring artists how to evaluate their goals and create a plan of action to advance their professional careers, and use their talents to build productive lives in the art world. In addition, the book includes insightful interviews with professional artists and well-known players in the art scene.
There is a gap in knowledge about artistic careers--few people fully understand the economics and sociology of the visual and performing arts. The public impression of the lives of artists are distorted because typically only the very successful get attention. Society generalizes based on those people who are statistical exceptions, not by looking at average careers, let alone those who discontinue their pursuit of arts professions. For emerging young artists, it is essential to know the histories of the different performing and visual arts, and their training and craft traditions. Additionally, understanding the role of informal learning, differences in types of institutions, approaches to teaching-learning, and the subsequent likely career impact is important.
This book is a compilation of papers derived from talks, presented at TransCultural Exchange's 2018 International Conference on Opportunities in the Arts. The aim of these talks was to inspire artists to think across disciplines and cultures and to suggest other career models beyond the typical studio to gallery/museum model. Much of this content is unique in that it not only addresses the practical needs of artists but, even more importantly, it does so in the context of today's global reality. As artists have noted on post-Conference surveys, this information is "the missing link in the art world; the bridge between academic and real-world practice; between a local and international career in the arts."
You've got the artistic talent; now learn how to make a career out of it! Fine artists are taught many things about the craft of art in various art schools and university art programs, but rarely do they learn much if anything about how to make a career of their talents. The Business of Being an Artist, now in its sixth edition, contains information on how artists may develop a presence in the art world that leads to sales. The book contains information on how artists can learn to sell their work directly to the public with an understanding of the principles of marketing and sales as they're applicable to works of art. Artists will also learn how to find a suitable gallery that will arrange sales and commissions and how to set up a contractual relationship with the dealer that is both equitable and profitable.
Want some more in-depth information about preparing for a job or career? Check out this self-paced Canvas tutorial which includes the following modules:
More resources can be found in the Career Research Guide
Use these databases to search for information about different careers. You can find salary information, job duties and descriptions, education requirements, and more.
The following guides (PDF) provide assistance in getting started with using these databases:
