Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scottsdale Community College Scottsdale Community College Library

Library Resources by Field of Interest: Research Tools and Search Tips for Applied Technology Related Topics

Applied Technology Field of Interest IconResearch Tips for Applied Technology Topics

Get Help

Ask a Librarian chat Logo

Chat with a real live librarian!

 

Library Resources

What is a library database?

A library database is a searchable collection of different resources including articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals, streaming videos, images, and more. 

Library databases are different than Google. The information contained in databases is not freely available via a google search.  You have access to the databases as an SCC student, so when you access a database from off campus you will be prompted to login with your MEID and password.  

 

Keywords

Databases deliver the best results when you search using specific keywords or short phrases rather than full sentences, questions, or strings of words. Thinking about your topic and different aspects of your topic can help you to identify relevant keywords. Good keywords are single words (usually nouns)  OR specific phrases (two or more words that must go together to make sense). When searching for an exact phrase, use quotations.  Here is an example of some keywords and phrases:

             schematics           "project management"             "structural engineering"               architecture               construction 

To find articles about specific aspects of your topic, join two keywords or phrases together using the word AND.  For example:

  • architecture AND "project management"
  • "architecture" AND "sustainable materials"
  • "project management" AND construction

Recommended Databases

View a listing of library databases by subject.  

OneSearch basics

Watch: OneSearch in Under 3 Minutes to learn how to search the library's online resources.