Social work rests on complex philosophical assumptions that should be central to practice, education, and training. In this book, Frederic G. Reamer explores how these issues bear on the purpose, methods, and perspectives of social work and their far-reaching implications for practice and scholarship.
Joining the ranks of Evicted and The New Jim Crow, a former caseworker's searing, clear-eyed investigation of the child welfare system--from foster care to incarceration--that exposes the deep-rooted biases shaping the system, witnessed through the lives of several Black families.
This book showcases innovative ways in which practice and education have responded to the challenges of Covid 19. With ongoing debate about planning for the next pandemic, as well as adapting to the post Covid landscape, the book is a valuable resource for all those involved in health and social work education and practice.
The Anti-Racist Social Worker is a call for action told through individual stories. It shows how those in social care and allied health professions can contribute in a meaningful way to the creation of the change we need and encourages everyone to consider their own roles in dismantling racism.
Integrating contemporary theory and research findings with numerous case illustrations drawn from a wide range of practice contexts, this textbook provides students with an invaluable introduction to the real world of social work practice and includes knowledge, methods, and skills for advanced practice.
Search for more print books and ebooks.
From Films on Demand: This video features Sgt. (Ret.) Betsy Brantner Smith whose many years as a respected law enforcement officer and trainer (including elder services), makes her the ideal focal point for knowledge-sharing. She discusses the intricacies of an elder abuse call and offers insights in how best to handle the response.
From Films on Demand: Finding the Way Home highlights the painful realities of the eight million children living in orphanages and other institutions around the world, focusing on the stories of eight children who have been reunited with family members or placed in loving foster homes after experiencing the trauma of institutionalization.
From Films on Demand: Moms2B is a program that helps pregnant women to have healthy pregnancies and healthy babies, especially those living in poverty. The program provides social workers, a dietitian, pediatricians, obstetricians, community educators, and family advocates to help the women.
Spotlight on the Sociology Database. This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
