Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scottsdale Community College Scottsdale Community College Library

Linking to the Library's Electronic Resources: Link to Articles

Linking to the Library's Electronic Resources

Get Help

Ask a Librarian chat Logo

Chat with a real live librarian!

 

Link to Articles from Databases

The procedure for creating a persistent link to an article from a magazine, journal, or newspaper varies from one database provider to another. Some providers can generate a link that includes our proxy prefix; for other providers, you will have to append the library's proxy prefix to the link given by the vendor.

Instructions for our most popular databases are given below.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO databases include:

  • Search for an article, and then click an article title to view the detailed record
  • Click on "Permalink" under Tools in the right column
  • The persistent link will appear in a "Permalink" text box above the title of the article
  • Click in the text box to select the full URL, which already includes the proxy prefix, and copy it to your clipboard (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac)
  • Paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac)

 

Gale Databases

Gale databases include:

The Gale Virtual Library is described in the box below this one.

  • Search for an article, and then click an article title to view it
  • Click on "Bookmark this Document" under Tools in the right column
  • Select the full URL and copy it to your clipboard (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac) (Note: an easy way to select this entire URL is to triple-click it)
  • Paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac)

 

Gale Virtual Reference

  • Search for an article, and then click an article title to view it
  • Click on "Bookmark" toward the top of the page
  • Select the full URL and copy it to your clipboard (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac) (Note: an easy way to select this entire URL is to triple-click it)
  • Paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac)

 

Other Periodical Databases

  • Search for an article, and then click an article title to view it
  • Find the "Document URL" near the end of the page
  • The persistent link will appear in a "Permalink" text box above the title of the article
  • Select the full URL and copy it to your clipboard (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac) (Note: an easy way to select this entire URL is to triple-click it)
  • Paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac)
  • Search for and display an article
  • Click the arrow next to "Email a link back to..." in the toolbar above the article, choose "Full Report," and email the full article to yourself
  • Copy the Document URL given in the email (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac)
  • Paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac)
  • Search for an article, and then click an article title to view it
  • Copy the "Stable URL" below the title of the journal (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac)
  • Type the SCC proxy prefix (https://ezproxy.scottsdalecc.edu:2443/login?url=) and paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac) immediately after it
  • Search for an article, and then click an article title to view it
  • Click the "Copy Document Link" icon (a clipboard behind a chain link) on the icon bar at the top right corner of the article
  • Right-click the link that appears in a "Copy the URL of this link" window and select "Copy Shortcut" or "Copy Link Location" for the context menu that appears
  • Type the SCC proxy prefix (https://ezproxy.scottsdalecc.edu:2443/login?url=) and paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac) immediately after it
  • Search for and display an article, and then copy the URL from the address bar (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac)
  • Type the SCC proxy prefix (https://ezproxy.scottsdalecc.edu:2443/login?url=) and paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac) immediately after it
  • Search for and display a definition
  • Copy the URL from the address bar (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac)
  • Type the SCC proxy prefix (https://ezproxy.scottsdalecc.edu:2443/login?url=) and paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac) immediately after it

  • If the full text of an article is available through PubMed, display the article, copy the URL, and paste it without the library's proxy prefix
  • Search for and display an article, and then copy the URL from the address bar (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac)
  • Type the SCC proxy prefix (https://ezproxy.scottsdalecc.edu:2443/login?url=) and paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac) immediately after it
  • Search for an article and click the title
  • Click "E-Mail Article"
    • Fill in the text boxes with your name and e-mail address
    • Choose to "Send E-mail in" Plain text
  • Copy the URL given in the email (use Ctrl-C on a PC, Cmd-C on a Mac)
  • Type the SCC proxy prefix (https://ezproxy.scottsdalecc.edu:2443/login?url=) and paste the URL from your clipboard (use Ctrl-V on a PC, Cmd-V on a Mac) immediately after it