Library: BIO181 General Biology (Majors): Search Library and Open Databases for Articles

Get Help

Chat with a real live librarian!

Citing Sources

Use the National Library of Medicine style to cite sources for this class (BIO181).

Search Library Resources

The library subscribes to dozens of databases. Most are indexes to and full-text articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers. Other types of databases include libraries of streaming videos, electronic books, entries from reference books, and business and legal resources.

eBook Academic Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Online version of reference works in every major subject area.

Search for Video

Search a Specific Streaming Video Database

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Video of dance productions and documentaries
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources through collaborations with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars. Includes live performance recordings and behind the scenes insights.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Educational titles in dozens of subject areas
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels This link opens in a new window A collection of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including National Archives and Records Administration, the United Newsreel collection, the Universal Newsreel collection, and the WPA Film Library.
Films on Demand: Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. The collection includes nursing skills, patient care and interventions, nursing foundations, diseases, disorders, and disabilities, and special topics in nursing.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window Hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events.

Or look through our licensed Kanopy films

Search the Library Catalog for books and DVDs available at the SCC Library, including course reserve materials.

You can search for specific titles, authors, or keywords in the box below:

Search Open Source Databases

PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Many of the articles are available in full text for no cost.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Mostly abstracts of articles in the biomedical fields but also includes some access to full-text medical-related articles. **Use OneSearch (library.scottsdalecc.edu) to determine if SCC Library has the full-text of the article.**

PubMed Tutorial

PLOS (Public Library of Science) "is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication" (PLOS website)

PLOS (Public Library of Science)

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly information published as articles, books, theses and court opinions. Whereas the standard Google search engine finds links to Web pages, Google Scholar results are citations for articles that are not necessarily available for free on the Web.

Google's description of Google Scholar

Use the same type of keyword search in Google Scholar that you use with the standard Google search engine. In the left column of the results page you can choose to change the display from a relevant sort to a date sort; you can also limit the results by date range.

Google's search tips

Google Scholar is not a database with full-text articles and books; when you click on a search result, you are usually taken to a page that offers options for paid access. If Google has identified Web sites that offer free access to the resource, you will find a link to the Web site or PDF file in the right column.

Fortunately you can link your Google Scholar search to SCC Library's databases, which will significantly increase the number of search results that give you free full-text articles. Instructions for linking to SCC Library from Google Scholar.

In Google Scholar, go to Settings--Library Links and search for Scottsdale Community College. Add and save SCC to your settings to find Library information via Google Scholar: