Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scottsdale Community College Scottsdale Community College Library

Library Resources by Field of Interest: Education Career Research Resources from the Library

Education Field of Interest

Education Field of Interest IconCareer Resources

Career Databases from the Library

Use these databases to search for information about different careers. You can find salary information, job duties and descriptions, education requirements, and more.

Get Help

Ask a Librarian chat Logo

Chat with a real live librarian!

 

Your Librarian

Browse Career Books & eBooks from the SCC Library

Becoming a Teacher

This book provides students with the tools and information necessary to answer the questions, "What does it take to become a high quality teacher?" and "Do I want to teach?" Along the way, the author provides practical perspectives for meeting the challenges of teaching. Organized into four parts, the book addresses both functional and foundational topics to give readers a well-rounded view of the teaching profession.

101 Careers in Education (eBook)

Education is a rewarding area of work that provides some of the most diverse career opportunities of any field. Written by educators with real-world knowledge of the profession, this information-packed guide provides the career explorer with concise information on the necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook for over 100 careers in a wide range of education settings. 

Book cover

Ask the Right Questions; Get the Right Job (ebook)

This book provides a set of questions appropriate for any job candidate to ask. Review all of the questions. Choose the ones that you believe provide you with the information you need. Learn to interview the interviewer!

Book cover

Get Hired Now! (ebook)

In Get Hired Now!, Ian Siegel tells you exactly how to find a new job fast. He gives you step-by-step instructions for writing a resume that works, finding the right jobs to apply to, acing a job interview, and negotiating a job offer. 

Book Cover

Careers in Human Services (eBook)

Careers in Human Services explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available and to help those make a better-informed decisions when selecting a career path or field of study.

Search Tips for finding for books and ebooks

Search the library catalog for print books and the ebook database for ebooks to find more career related information.

 

For the best results, search using specific keywords or short phrases rather than full sentences, questions, or strings of words. Thinking about your topic and different aspects of your topic can help you to identify relevant keywords. Good keywords are single words (usually nouns)  OR specific phrases (two or more words that must go together to make sense). When searching for an exact phrase, use quotations.  Here is an example of some keywords and phrases:

"special education"                     "teacher's aide"                     "early childhood education"              "child development"

To find books related to careers add the phrase "vocational guidance" or a keyword related to career/job searching. For example:

  • "special education" AND "vocational guidance"
  • "resume writing" AND teacher
  • "employment interviewing" AND "early childhood education"

Search Library Resources by Field of Interest

Applied Technology

Behavioral and Human ServicesBusiness, Entrepreneurialism, & ManagementComputer & Information TechnologyCulture and SocietyHealth SciencesStemVisual and Performing Arts